How to delete a Facebook account or deactivate it [2020 Updated]

Facebook is a great place to connect with people although, they have some security and privacy issues that can make a user delete or deactivate a Facebook account. If you’re done with Facebook or don’t want to share any news feed about your life, this article is perfect for you. I’m going to provide a quick step-by-step guide deactivate or delete a Facebook account permanently. You can do this through the Facebook app or the website.

How to deactivate your Facebook account

Before you deactivate your Facebook account, there are some things to you should know:

  • Your profile won’t show when people search for you
  • Some information will still be available to users, for instance, messages you’ve sent.
  • Your account info will be saved in case you reactivate it

Follow the link to deactivate your Facebook account. Select the ‘Deactivate Account‘ option, then follow steps to continue. You can reactivate your Facebook account by logging in to your account with your email address or phone number, and password.

How to delete a Facebook account permanently

Before you delete your Facebook account, there are some things to you should know:

  • It takes Facebook a few days to delete an account. 
  • If you login to the account during that period, Facebook will cancel the request to delete the account.
  • You won’t have access to the account after Facebook deletes it.
  • It can take up to 90 days to clear your data stored in backup systems.

Download a copy of your information

Deleting your Facebook account is a serious decision to make. It can affect the way you keep in touch with distant relatives and friends. I think it’s worth downloading a copy of your information (such as posts, likes, and comments) before deleting your account. Follow the steps below to download a copy of your data:

If you’re logged in on a desktop

  • Follow this link to Facebook’s help page on how to delete your account.
  • Now, click “Download info.” 

donload your facebook information

From the Facebook app

  • Open the Facebook app.
  • Select the three lines at the end of the navigation bar.
  • Now, scroll down and select the Settings & Privacy

Facebook home screen

Facebook menu

Facebook menu

  • From the expanded menu, select Settings.
  • Scroll down the options and select Download Your Information.

Facebook menu settings

delete a facebook account: Facebook settings

Facebook menu

  • You will see a list of your info. Deselect any info you don’t want to save (everything is checked by default).
  • Finally, go to the bottom of the list and tap the Create File button.

delete a facebook account: download your information

delete a facebook account: download your information

delete a facebook account: download your information

By the time your copy is ready, Facebook will send you an email to let you know. From there, go back to the app and download it.

Next, delete your account

If you’re logged in on a desktop

  • Follow this link to Facebook’s help page on how to delete your account.
  • Now, click the “Delete account” button.

Delete a facebook account

From the Facebook app

  • Open the Facebook app.
  • Select the three lines at the end of the navigation bar.
  • Next, scroll down and select the Settings & Privacy.

Facebook home screen

Facebook menu

Facebook menu

  • From the expanded menu, select Settings.
  • Scroll down the options and select Account Ownership and Control.
    Facebook menu settings

    delete a facebook account: Facebook settings

    Facebook menu

  • Select Deactivation and Deletion.
  • Choose Delete Account and tap Continue to Account Deletion.
  • Select Delete Account.

delete a facebook account permanently

Facebook deactivation page

Facebook deactivation page

delete facebook account forever

That’s it. Your Facebook account is permanently deleted.

More Articles:

 

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *